universal pictures really dug themselves into a hole with the “minions flock to the biggest villain on the planet” thing because there’s no way to deny that minions must have worked for like, fascist italy or the mafia… but they made their bed so now they can lie in it
minions are directly responsible for every war crime and atrocity in human history
Honestly I think any white people, and frankly I see this mostly from white women, still going on about how Clinton lost mainly because of misogyny are being more than vaguely but less than overtly racist. Certainly misogyny was a factor in her treatment and the joy with which men of many political leanings called her everything from a shrill bitch to a fine to whatever. But the fact of the matter is that the DNC made a bet against American racism being powerful enough to get people to vote for someone they didn’t like, and it lost, and because the Clinton campaign played its cards wrong (won the popular vote but totally skipped over places that ended up going red) and because, as it turns out, racism is a powerful political motivator for enough Americans to sit aside their religious or ethical concerns about the candidate spearheading it, we have concentration centers being set up on military bases and liberals clapping about it, and women are going to die after Roe v. Wade is undone. Trumpism is popularly fueled by white anxiety about allegedly losing a country they fundamentally believe belongs to them- that’s what MAGA is about, and that’s what drove people to the polls, in addition to a supreme court seat and opposition to abortion. Look into the face of racism and stop being a coward. This is a major part of what makes this rotting country what it is. I don’t have the luxury of ignoring it.
Especially when you look at how white women votes it’s clear that their hatred of nasty invading gross brown people and blacks getting out of line and staging protests lile they were citizens, was stronger than their hatred of a man saying he could sexually assault women because he’s famous. Obviously there’s a good deal to be said about the necessity of consciousness-raising there but a lot of people who look like you are just racist. Deal with it instead of trying desperately to ignore it maybe.
If you have $1,000 in cash and spend 1 penny, that’s the equivalent of Jeff Bezos spending $1.5 million
Good for him. Money doesn’t just fall from the sky. He had to do something to be that wealthy.
like have parents who could give him $100,000 without breaking a sweat then working people literally to death?
“He had to do something to be that wealthy.” should be a very ominous phrase not a positive one.
i like that this person says “he had to do something to be that wealthy”
like. they aren’t sure, they have absolutely no idea about how he acquired all of his wealth, they know nothing about the topic, and yet they will continue to firmly believe that mr. bezos would never do us wrong
Al Capone was the first American to make $100 million, and he had to do “something” fof his money too.
Al Capone actually cared about poor people, though. He came from a family of immigrants and took care of his own, donating to charities and even running a soup kitchen (x, there are better sources but I’m lazy). Some people even characterized him as a kind of modern Robin Hood.
Let me be clear: I’m not saying Al Capone was a good guy. I’m saying he might’ve been a better guy than Jeff Bezos.
And I’m saying that while Al Capone wasn’t a great guy, he was DEFINITELY A better guy than Jeff Bez-ass. This is on mobile, so I can’t do resources right now, I’ll add them later.
Capone, even though he didn’t fire the bullet, once paid for the hospital bills of a woman that had been caught in the crossfire of a scuffle. And while he was there, after paying her medical bills and giving her over $100 of flowers to cheer her up, he paid off all the bills of the children in the hospital. Which he did regularly. He sent flowers to the families of his dead enemies. HE IS THE REASON MILK HAS AN EXPIRATION DATE! His son (or nephew or something) died from complications from bad milk. And he got to work and made the milk and dairy industry hold to a much tighter standard, with included sell by dates and expiration dates. Not because it was family that got sick (or died), but because he found out that a lot of kids were getting sick off of bad milk products.
Capone was always a gentleman, he paid his workers well, treated his women good, and protected his own. If one of his workers got hurt or died, he would pay the bills and expenses, and help out their families.
He wasn’t a good guy, but the dude had a moral standard that Jeff Bez-ass doesn’t even pretend to have.
Oh, and Capone also heavily supported local shops, went to baseball games with his kids, funded his workers’ children to go to school, and was the kind of guy that wouldn’t sucker punch ya unless it was absolutely necessary.
How many rich assholes do we know of that does that kind of stuff?
Mafia Tumblr I knew you were out there somewhere
reblogging for the mafia side of tumblr
Hey, uh, guys? I hate to be That Guy, but this is… a fairly common tactic. Want to know why he helped those people but could still be a brutal crime boss? Because by helping them out, he got a built in security system where he lived. If the cops came poking around the locals wouldn’t be helpful, because the crime boss helped them out when things were tough. Pablo Escobar, also known as the King of Cocaine, was considered a Robin Hood by many for building housing for the poor, schools, and all sorts of other helpful things. You know what happened when the authorities were trying to track him down and arrest him? The people he helped refused to cooperate. He even got elected to office. Terrible people can do good things and still be terrible.
This is absolutely true, re: both Escobar and Capone.
The thing is? Our modern-day robber barons aren’t even bothering to do that much.
So I can understand a bit of nostalgia for the gentlemanly gangsters. That doesn’t mean I don’t understand that they were bad people. It’s just that the current crop don’t even bother pretending to be gentlemanly.
(Fave old-timey gangster story: at a meeting of crime bosses, the head of an Italian mafia family brags to Meyer Lansky that his son is following him into the business.
Meyer Lansky, actual cofounder of Murder Inc, responds with: “That’s nice. My son works for NASA.”)
The amount of times I could have been that white girl in the horror movie could honestly be a movie in itself and it’s honestly a waste that my entire life isn’t constantly recorded on film because it would be HILARIOUS
1. That one time I decided to see what was past the old gate in the woods, but when got there it had been smashed in half and there was a decapitated sheep head with no skin just off the trail, so instead I just turned around and went home.
2. That time some friends and I went camping and we found a pile of bones wrapped in a garbage bag buried under a log, but the adult supervisor told us it was nothing, so we just put it back and didn’t talk about it again.
3. The time I was getting chased through the woods at night and I realized “wait it’s dark as fuck” so I just held still until the guy gave up and left.
4. The time this dude said he was in love with me and so he was going to cut my head off and dump my body in a lake, so I told him to grow the hell up, but then he got caught stealing girl’s underwear a day later and I never saw him again
5. That one time in college where I was taking a shortcut on my home at night and a car followed me into a dark alley, so I stared directly into the driver’s side of the window and walked towards it to psych them out
6. The night I was out on a walk and this old guy told me he’d locked his keys in his truck and that he needed someone my size to crawl in through the back window for him, so I told him “you know that sounds super suspicious right” and told him where to find a pay phone for a tow truck instead
7. The one time this random guy on the street said he was in love with me and so he was going to follow me home on my bus, so I clapped him on the shoulder and told him that if he got that close to my bus then I was going to throw him under the wheels, but then this really nice homeless man from Nigeria told the guy to fuck off and then checked to make sure he didn’t follow me onboard
8. That big cat with yellow eyes who I found in a well and brought home who used to put rotting meat in my closet and wake me up by chewing on my face, until I put him back outside and never saw him again.
9. My one cousin who used to come over for the summer who kept calling me ‘piñata’ and hitting me with sticks, until he went back home and was sent to juvie cause he finally got caught torturing animals
10. The time I got lost on the way to a meeting and wound up at a circus tent instead, and got followed by a full-out clown for three vacant street blocks
11. The pet hamster I had when I was seven who would scream all night and eventually escaped by ripping a bar out of its cage and wiggling through the hole. My mom caught it and put it back but it lived another year and a half until one night the screaming just stopped
12. The time I was whistling in the woods and something started whistling back, so I went home
13. That one night at summer camp where a group of girls got together to play ‘bloody mary’ in the lavatory and invited me to come with them so I said “no thanks” and stayed with the camp councillors and drank soup instead.
14. The old abandoned house I just moved into with the door that leads into a big empty room full of dirt and empty cooking pots that I just sort of… locked up forever and never go near
15. Once when I was at an ihop I saw a coffee mug do a full 360º spin with nobody touching it, so I said ‘that was neat’ and never ate there again
16. The time I took a photo of a big old raven sitting on the crucifix on top of the old town church cause it was the most goth thing I’d ever seen, right? But then it swooped down towards me, so I apologized immediately for being rude, and I felt a little silly for a while but the car that hit me on the way home didn’t even leave a bruise so idk be nice to birds
Sorry I know I bring this shit up a lot but sometimes im awake at night and I just. keep thinking
I think the secret to survival is to be good to animals, stay away from men, and say “no thanks” to everything else
Ronald K. Siegel has studied the precursors of religious faith in African elephants and concludes that “elephants are aware of natural cycles, as they practice “moon worship,” waving branches at the waxing moon and engaging in ritual bathing when the moon is full.“[7] Observations by Pliny the elder also note supposed elephant reverence for the celestial bodies.[8]
fucking cool
forgot Jesus, I wanna convert to an elephant religion
are we just citing Pliny’s Natural History on elephant behavior like that’s fine? the guy who said elephants frequently died in fights with dragons? is that what’s happening?
“
In the course of his testimony in the Blake trial, Siegel disclosed that in one study, he had taught monkeys to smoke crack cocaine”
Hey this dude seems totally normal and a fine person to listen to when it comes to animal behavior
Maybe medieval people happened upon a T-Rex fossil and came to a relatively logical conclusion that dragons existed.
I’ve read a couple books on this actually, thats exactly what happened. Also cyclops are from looking at bones from a certain type of baby elephant. The giant note hole and tiny eyes made it look like a single eye.
Yep, can confirm! And what’s even funnier to me is that back in the dark ages, Greek people used to find a lot of prehistoric bear skeletons – and those look exactly like human skeletons, except they’re like eight feet tall or something – so they naturally assumed those were the heroes of legend, and made armour and clothes for them and reburied them with the most splendid and sacred religious ceremonies they could think of? Fast forward five centuries, Athens’ all modern and rational, philosophers and scientists aren’t taking any shit from anyone – but the problem is, people will randomly find graves containing giant-ass warriors, so that’s something that can’t be explained away and yeah, demigods were a thing and yeah, they used to be eight feet tall and sorry I don’t make the rules.
Ancient people had no idea what the bones of ancient creatures would look like or a concept of extinction. So strange bones that looked unlike modern animals were imagined based on their similarity to modern animals. A beaked dinosaur was imagined to have the head of an eagle, it’s clawed feet looked like a lion. So many mythological creatures are an assortment of different animal features, head like an X, body like a y. This may be from finding fossils which didn’t resemble any one modern animal but sort of resembled different features from various sorts of animals.